Tax Treaties: United States And Australia

Quick Summary.  Located “down under” in the Southern Hemisphere and covering the Indian and Pacific Oceans, Australia consists of a mainland continent, the island of Tasmania, and several smaller islands. Australia comprises six states and 10 territories, with its capital at Canberra. Australia boasts the world’s 14th-largest economy and one of the highest per-capita incomes in the world.

Australia is a parliamentary, federal constitutional monarchy.  Its system of government combines elements of the systems of the United Kingdom and the United States.  Its constitution provides for a bicameral Parliament, with a Senate and House of Representatives, as well as a monarch.  Its executive branch, the Federal Executive Council, is comprised of a prime minister and other ministers.  In addition, its judicial branch is headed by the High Court of Australia.

Australia is a member of the United Nations, G20, OECD, and World Trade Organization.

Read More