TaxConnections

 
 

Access Leading Tax Experts And Technology
In Our Global Digital Marketplace

Please enter your input in search

Archive for Aaron Giles

Illinois Sales Tax Deduction Cap On Vehicle Trade-Ins

Illinois State Sales Tax Deduction

When the final results are in, car dealerships in Illinois likely noticed a spike in revenue during December 2019 by customers looking to avoid increased Illinois sales tax. This increase is a result of a new Illinois sales tax law that is set to go into effect January 1, 2020. The tax law that was signed by Gov. J.B. Pritzker on June 28th caps the sales tax deduction on the trade-in value of vehicles. Previously, Illinois had no cap on the sales tax deduction allowable on vehicles that are traded in as a part of the purchase of a new vehicle. State officials estimate that the change in Illinois tax law will generate roughly $60 million in additional revenue on an annual basis. Proceeds will go to funding roads and vertical infrastructure projects under the Rebuild Illinois Capital Plan.

Read more

Massachusetts Sales Tax Receipts Below Expectations

AARON GILES- Massachusetts Sales Tax

Since the 2018 Wayfair Supreme Court ruling, the State of Massachusetts sales tax receipts from online purchases have failed to meet earlier predictions. A November 2017 report by the US Government Accountability Office revealed that the state would generate $279 million in additional revenue. With actual Massachusetts sales tax receipts from online transactions totaling $60 million, leaders are scratching their heads about what has gone wrong.

Although many states anticipated higher sales tax revenues following the favorable outcome in the Wayfair ruling, Massachusetts was one state that did not take all aspects of the ruling into consideration. The main reason why Massachusetts sales tax receipts did not increase following the ruling is primarily due minimal impact on online retailers. Companies with national stature such as Amazon, are far more likely to generate more in sales tax revenue which is driven by their high volume of online sales. However, Amazon has been collecting Massachusetts state sales tax dating back to 2013. Jared Walczak, senior policy analyst at Tax Foundation stated that “…government officials didn’t have a good grasp of just how much they were already collecting in online sales taxes.”

Read more

Wisconsin And Wyoming State Sales And Use Tax

Aaron Giles

Wisconsin State Sales And Use Tax

The state of Wisconsin levies a 5% state sales tax on the retail sale, lease or rental of most goods and some services. Local jurisdictions can impose additional sales taxes of 0.6%. The range of total sales tax rates within the state of Wisconsin is between 5% and 5.6%.

Use tax is also collected on the consumption, use or storage of goods in Wisconsin if sales tax was not paid on the purchase of the goods. The use tax rate is the same as the sales tax rate. Returns are to be filed on or before the 20th day of the month following the month in which the purchases were made. For example, purchases made in the month of January should be reported to the state of Wisconsin on or before the 20th day of February. For more information on Wisconsin sales tax exemptions please visit the sites shown below.
Read more

Washington D.C. And Washington State Taxes

Aaron Giles

Washington DC Sales And Use Tax

The District of Columbia, Washington D.C., levies a 5.75% state sales tax on the retail sale, lease or rental of most goods and some services. There are no additional local sales taxes in Washington D.C.

Use tax is also collected on the consumption, use or storage of goods in Washington D.C. if sales tax was not paid on the purchase of the goods. The use tax rate is the same as the sales tax rate. Returns are to be filed on or before the 20th day of the month following the month in which the purchases were made. For example, purchases made in the month of January should be reported to the District of Columbia on or before February 20th.

Read more

Virginia And West Virginia State Sales And Use Tax

Aaron Giles

Virginia State Sales And Use Tax

The state of Virginia levies a 4.3% state sales tax on the retail sale, lease or rental of most goods and some services. All local jurisdictions impose additional sales taxes of 1% to 1.7%, therefore the total sales tax rate within the state of Virginia could be as high as 6%.

Use tax is also collected on the consumption, use or storage of goods in Virginia if sales tax was not paid on the purchase of the goods. The use tax rate is the same as the sales tax rate. Returns are to be filed on or before the 20th day of the month following the month in which the purchases were made. For example, purchases made in the month of January should be reported to the state of Virginia on or before the 20th day of February.

Read more

Utah And Vermont State Sales And Use Tax

Aaron Giles

The state of Utah levies a 4.65% state sales tax on the retail sale, lease or rental of most goods and some services. Local jurisdictions impose additional sales taxes ranging between 1.3% and 3.4%. The range of total sales tax rates within the state of Utah is between 5.9% and 8.1%.

Use tax is also collected on the consumption, use or storage of goods in Utah if sales tax was not paid on the purchase of the goods. The use tax rate is the same as the sales tax rate. Returns are to be filed on or before the last day of the month following the month in which the purchases were made. For example, purchases made in the month of January should be reported to the state of Utah on or before the last day of February.

Read more

Tennessee And Texas State Sales And Use Tax Laws

Aaron Giles

Tennessee State Sales And Use Tax

The state of Tennessee levies a 7% state sales tax on the retail sale, lease or rental of most goods and some services. Local jurisdictions impose additional sales taxes ranging between 1% and 2.75%. The range of total sales tax rates within the state of Tennessee is between 8.5% and 9.75%.

Use tax is also collected on the consumption, use or storage of goods in Tennessee if sales tax was not paid on the purchase of the goods. The use tax rate is the same as the sales tax rate. Returns are to be filed on or before the 20th day of the month following the month in which the purchases were made. For example, purchases made in the month of January should be reported to the state of Tennessee on or before the 20th day of February.

Read more

South Carolina And South Dakota Sales And Use Tax

South Carolina Sales And Use Tax

South Carolina State Sales And Use Tax

The state of South Carolina levies a 6% state sales tax on the retail sale, lease or rental of most goods and some services. Local jurisdictions impose additional sales taxes up to 2.5%. The range of total sales tax rates within the state of South Carolina is between 6% and 8.5%.

Use tax is also collected on the consumption, use or storage of goods in South Carolina if sales tax was not paid on the purchase of the goods. The use tax rate is the same as the sales tax rate. Returns are to be filed on or before the 20th day of the month following the month in which the purchases were made. For example, purchases made in the month of January should be reported to the state of South Carolina on or before the 20th day of February.

Read more

Pennsylvania And Rhode Island State Sales And Use Tax

Pennsylvania Sales And Use Tax

The state of Pennsylvania levies a 6% state sales tax on the retail sale, lease or rental of most goods and some services. Local jurisdictions impose additional sales taxes up to 2%. The range of total sales tax rates within the state of Pennsylvania is between 6% and 8%.

Use tax is also collected on the consumption, use or storage of goods in Pennsylvania if sales tax was not paid on the purchase of the goods. The use tax rate is the same as the sales tax rate. Returns are to be filed on or before the 20th day of the month following the month in which the purchases were made. For example, purchases made in the month of January should be reported to the state of Pennsylvania on or before the 20th day of February.
Read more

Ohio, Oklahoma Sales And Use Tax – Oregon Has No Sales And Use Tax

Aaron Giles - Ohio, Oklahoma And Oregon

Ohio State Sales And Use Tax

As of September 1, 2013, the state of Ohio levies a 5.75% state sales tax on the retail sale, lease or rental of most goods and some services. Local jurisdictions impose additional sales taxes ranging between 0.75% and 2.25%. The range of total sales tax rates within the state of Ohio is between 6.5% and 8%.

Use tax is also collected on the consumption, use or storage of goods in Ohio if sales tax was not paid on the purchase of the goods. The use tax rate is the same as the sales tax rate. Returns are to be filed on or before the 23rd day of the month following the month in which the purchases were made. For example, purchases made in the month of January should be reported to the state of Ohio on or before the 23rd day of February.

Read more

New York State, North Carolina And North Dakota Sales And Use Tax

Aaron Giles

New York State Sales And Use Tax

The state of New York levies a 4% state sales tax on the retail sale, lease or rental of most goods and some services. Local jurisdictions impose additional sales taxes up to 4.875%. The range of total sales tax rates within the state of New York is between 4% and 8.875%.

Use tax is also collected on the consumption, use or storage of goods in New York if sales tax was not paid on the purchase of the goods. The use tax rate is the same as the sales tax rate. Returns are to be filed on or before the 20th day of the month following the month in which the purchases were made. For example, purchases made in the month of January should be reported to the state of New York on or before the 20th day of February. 

New York State Department Of Taxation And Finance
New York State Sales And Use Tax Rules
New York State Sales Tax Forms

Read more

New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico Sales And Use Tax Exemptions

Aaron Giles

New Hampshire State Sales And Use Tax

The state of New Hampshire is one of five states in the U.S. that does not charge a state sales tax.

New Jersey State Sales And Use Tax

The state of New Jersey’s sales tax rate was reduced effective January 1, 2017. The sales tax rate was reduced from 7% to 6.85% and will be reduced again as of January 1, 2018 to a 6.625% rate. New Jersey applies sales tax on the retail sale, lease or rental of most goods and some services. There are no additional local sales taxes in the state of New Jersey. More information is provided below about reduced sales tax rates and major New Jersey sales tax exemptions.

In Salem County, the sales tax rate is 3.5% and the 7% state sales tax rate does not apply. This 3.5% Salem County rate only applies to retail sales of tangible personal property made in person at a place of business located within Salem County.

Read more