Quick Summary.  Hungary is a parliamentary republic.  It is comprises of 19 counties.

In 2019, Hungary introduced a group taxation regime.  With certain restrictions, the regime promotes cross offsetting of operating losses.  As of 2020, Hungary implemented EU’s Anti-Tax Avoidance Directive (ATAD II), providing for hybrid anti-abuse rules.  In addition, Hungary imposed an exit tax and anti-avoidance rules.

Other recent development for individuals subject to Hungarian taxation include removal of cash benefits as fringe benefits and developments with respect to the economic employer rules.

Read more